NEC: 20 Political Parties Registered for July 29 Election

AKP Phnom Penh, May 14, 2018 –

Twenty (20) political parties have registered at the National Election Committee (NEC) during the two-week-long registration period which ended this evening, said a NEC’s press release.

But, only four of the 20 registered parties – the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Cambodian Youth Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, and Khmer National United Party – have been officially recognised by NEC, it pointed out.

For the rest, it added, NEC has been checking their application forms. According to the regulations and procedures of the Law on Election of Members of the National Assembly of the 6th legislature, NEC must examine and make a decision at most seven days after receiving their application forms. If NEC finds something wrong in the application forms, it will give five days for the concerned political parties to make a correction.

Cambodia will organise the sixth general elections on July 29, 2018, and NEC has already announced the period for the political campaign that will fall from July 7 to 27.

In the previous national election on July 28, 2013, eight political competed in the election – CPP, the dissolved Cambodia National Rescue Party, the royalist FUNCINPEC Party, the League for Democracy Party, the Cambodian Nationality Party, the Democratic Republic Party, the Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, and the Khmer Economic Development Party.

By Khan Sophirom

    Download PDF

Comments are closed.