8 ASEAN Films To Be Screened in Cambodia Early September

AKP Phnom Penh, August 31, 2017 —

Eight films from ASEAN member countries will be screened on the National Television of Kampuchea (TVK) and TV5 Cambodia, from Sept. 8 to 15, as part of the activities to commemorate the 50th ASEAN Founding Anniversary.

The information was made known at a joint press conference on ASEAN Film Festival 2017 organised at the Ministry of Information, Phnom Penh yesterday afternoon in the presence of Cambodian Secretary of State for Information H.E. Mao Ayuth and Philippine Ambassador to Cambodia H.E. Christopher B. Montero, as well as representatives from embassies of other ASEAN countries in Cambodia.

H.E. Mao Ayuth said the ASEAN Film Festival is aimed to enhance the culture of ASEAN through the public broadcast of films representing each ASEAN Member State.

The eight films are from Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. The screening will be from 22:00 pm.

ASEAN was founded on Aug. 8, 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the five founding members, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Later, Brunei Darussalam joined the association in 1984, then Vietnam in 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999.

Article in Khmer by Sereirath

Article in English by C. Nika



    Download PDF

Comments are closed.